Although I have spent much time with plants and gardens and in Oslo seen an exhibition of Edward Munch’s  nature paintings, I have managed a little culture too.

My friend took me to the Art Museum in Ribe.  An old house from a wealthy family, it has pictures of the golden age of Danish painting, sort of late Victorian.  There are family scenes , pictures of Ribe, with views now gone and work by the artists at Skagen at the northern tip of Jutland.  The light there is very clear, like St Ives in Cornwall.

In Trondheim, my hotel is close to the Cathedral, a shrine to St Olav.  Saturday marked two hundred years of independence for Norway, so there were many events.  These included a concert, of early music by a madrigal group called Motett with Palestrina and at ten at night, with light streaming through the windows an organ concert of Norwegian music, mainly Greig played on the huge organ that has nearly nine thousand pipes.  The sound was amazing, especially from low notes, the ground vibrated and the programme shook in my hands as the music reverberated around the cathedral.  You looked up at the fan vaulting, the rose window and the ceiling bosses, a sensory feast.